First let me preface all of this by saying I likely won't be back to the site so I apologize for the one post and run style here. I HATE aliens and had nightmares about them all through my childhood so this research is partially to discredit the movie for my own sanity and partially because I hate hoaxes.
If you look into the source for the page:
http://alaskanewsarchive.com/news/archive/...er-Profile.html
You'll find
/* 728x90, created 8/24/09- Alaska News Archive */
Even if the writers etc made this site to try and beef up their story, someone put a creation date on the page. So the site proclaims "July, 1997" and the contradicts itself in the source. If someone made this site for the movie the least they could have done is have some foresight and make it a while back so it would look like they were legitimately posting the archive. Also, when you traverse to any other page on that domain the same information is embedded in the source.
ie.
http://alaskanewsarchive.com/news/archive/...Struggling.html
http://alaskanewsarchive.com/news/archive/...-By-Aliens.html
(This one even mentions aliens, twice on the same sparsely populated site? I think not.)
http://alaskanewsarchive.com/news/archive/...liam-Tyler.html
http://alaskanewsarchive.com/news/archive/...es-On-Pace.html
http://alaskanewsarchive.com/news/archive/...t-Dividend.html
Anyway, I could go on but it now appears that the entire site went up on 8/24/09. Fake fake fake.
Whois lookup is below:
The true nail in the coffin?
Created on..............: 2009-08-12 16:44:47 GMT
Expires on..............: 2010-08-12 16:44:47 GMT
Last modified on........: 2009-08-12 16:44:47 GMT
Essentially, the domain registration is anonymous thru a 3rd party domain registration. Check the IP address of the person who posted that website and you will likely find one of two things... An L.A. or close by IP, OR use of a proxy (it will show as anonymous or from some other country).
*bow*
Bookmarks